Accessibility Aid

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2 Overview

Published on 

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) are recognized as the gold standard for inclusive design, aimed at making websites and digital content more accessible to people with disabilities. As technology evolves, so do the WCAG, with updates periodically evaluated and implemented by the World Wide Web Consortium’s (W3C) Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) and working groups within the disability community. The latest iteration, WCAG 2.2, sets forth design principles that enhance web content accessibility to a superior level.

Understanding Guidelines vs. Laws

”Guidelines” are recommendations or best practices designed to help achieve a specific standard or goal. They are not legally binding but serve as a framework for organizations or individuals to follow. In contrast, “laws” are binding regulations established by legal authorities, requiring compliance.

While WCAG itself is not legally binding, it is internationally recognized as the standard for web accessibility. Many laws and regulations reference WCAG as the benchmark for legal compliance, making “WCAG compliance” synonymous with “WCAG conformance.”

Key Features of WCAG 2.2

WCAG 2.2 includes technical instructions and success criteria for optimizing websites to accommodate various needs, such as assistive technology compatibility, screen reader accessibility, and keyboard-only navigation. The guidelines mandate:

  • Strong contrast between text and background colors
  • Descriptive alt text for all images and graphics
  • Closed captions and transcriptions for video content
  • Form labels for all input fields
  • Descriptive tags for navigation links and buttons

Why Compliance with WCAG 2.2 AA Standards Matters

Organizations should prioritize familiarity with WCAG 2.2 guidelines to ensure web content meets accessibility requirements. The reasons for striving for WCAG compliance include:


Accessibility removes barriers for users with disabilities, including those related to vision, motor skills, and neurodiversity. It also ensures content is accessible on various devices, including mobile phones and tablets.


Adhering to WCAG principles results in a streamlined website that is more user-friendly, leading to increased traffic, conversions, and sales.


WCAG serves as the foundation for digital accessibility regulations worldwide. Non-compliance can expose organizations to legal liabilities, including fines and lawsuits.

WCAG 2.2 AA Explained

WCAG 2.2 AA refers to the intermediate level of compliance within the WCAG framework, which includes three levels of conformance: A (basic), AA (mid-level), and AAA (highest). Each level addresses different degrees of accessibility, with AA being a widely targeted standard for legal compliance and inclusivity.

The Importance of WCAG 2.2 Compliance

Compliance with WCAG 2.2 is crucial for:

  • Ensuring broad accessibility and inclusion
  • Enhancing website performance and user experience
  • Meeting federal and international regulatory requirements

WCAG 2.2’s adoption into laws and regulations underscores its significance in creating an accessible digital world. Organizations aiming for inclusivity and legal compliance should align their web content with WCAG 2.2 AA standards, demonstrating a commitment to accessibility and equality in the digital age.

Fixed Price Accessibility Auditing, Fixes, Maintainenance & Monitoring

Our all-inclusive fixed monthly fee supports organizations in achieving ADA, Section 508, & WCAG compliance for digital accessibility. Pause or Cancel Anytime

Book a call
- or -
Whatsapp Chat